September 2018 {Book Releases}

Hey and welcome to my new feature. I decided to start doing a monthly new releases post but rather than include the generic big hitters that can be found all over the place I turned to the world of Twitter and one of my favourite groups The Fiction Cafe for authors. We are lucky as readers that we have such a vast pool of talented author’s to chose from when deciding our all important read list. Let’s face it there are more books on our TBR piles than we will ever get to read in this life time.

I wanted to share with you some of the lesser known authors, we often overlook the authors who we have not heard of or have self-published and don’t have a massive budget to spend on promotion. That is where this feature comes into play, I will be helping them on their journey by highlighting books coming for release in the month and including purchase links, blurbs and where available book covers.

So without further ado, here are some September 2018 releases which may interest you.

The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper

Paperback Release

20th September

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.

If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.

But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.

The Songs of Us

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Paperback and Digital

25th September

Purchase Links: eBook U.S | eBook UK

After the death of her fiance, Sophie Daniels is struggling to keep herself together. Painting is the only way she’s able to clear her head and stay grounded. For her art isn’t a hobby—it’s her religion. With a semester away from finishing graduate school, she knows that, despite her loss, things are going to get better. In fact, her thesis advisor has even taken a special interest in her. Sophie’s convinced that she’s found the mentor that she’s been looking for. When he shows he’s interested in her in more than just a student/teacher way, she obliges him. Until his wife leaves him.

Sophie learns the hard way what happens when a man cannot take responsibility for his own actions.

Now she’s back to square one in pulling herself back together. She hasn’t just lost her fiancé anymore: she’s lost parts of herself she’s not sure she’ll ever get back.

Like her ability to create.

Lake Effect is a raw exploration of human emotion and what it takes to save your own life

Lake Effect

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Paperback

28th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Such a small parcel
shouldn’t cause experienced
smugglers much trouble,
but this parcel is far from normal.
Chased across the seas, Finn and Aria must solve the
mysteries within the parcel.
What does it mean? Who should they trust?
What will happen?
The fate of an ancient people depends on them
and time is running out …
Eternal Seas

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Website

The Westwood Witches by Sarah Northwood

Digital

September 30th

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Aero trembled as she held the box sealed inside black paper. The dilemma was a difficult one – her mum had told her the box contained secrets she might not be ready for. Once she opened it, there would be no going back…
Aero has always felt like a misfit and an outsider. Thankfully, having a best friend like Lilly, along with a grandma like Joanna, makes life worth living. But a terrible event tears her world apart, and Aero Westwood is about to discover that her family has more secrets than most.

Facebook | Website

cover The Westwood witches

The Westwod Witches by Sarah Northwood

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus by Sue Wickstead

Paperback

30th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Daisy was a happy red bus who loved travelling the busy streets of London. When newer and shinier buses came along, the older buses like Daisy began to disappear. would Daisy become one of the forgotten buses, or was something else planned for her?

40137803_169634373877402_8944368092268462080_n

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus – by Sue Wickstead

I hope that you find something here that will tickle your fancy.

Thanks for reading.

Emma-Louise x

Advertisements

Confessions Of A Plannerholic : Top 5 Role Models

When I think about someone who is a role model I think about how inspiring they are, how I am envious of what they can achieve,  accomplish, and how they come across.
Today’s COAP post is an ode to the top 5 role models we have. These could be famous people, family members, bloggers. Anyone you aspire to learn from.

My Top 5 Role Models are;

1) Michelle Mills. Michelle is like superwoman, she runs her own Etsy shop (UglyBugDoes), constantly is looking for ways to improve her business and give back, she has 3 small children and a loving husband and never has a dull moment. Constantly living a hectic and busy life but it’s clear that family are her priority. Everything that she does is to ultimately improve her family life. Michelle is an amazing and loving person. I’m grateful for her presence in my life.

2) Blogger Laura Hutchison from HowToGyst. I find Laura completely inspiring. I have followed HowToGyst for well over a year and it was through winning an giveaway that I discovered the amazing Getting Things Done. Laura is a normal woman living a life with children and work and through her blog she can help anyone be more productive. 

3) Alexis of Strange & Charmed. Alexis is someone who I inspire to in a business sense. There is so much I can learn about running an online business and managing my time better from this lady. Not only does she has her blog but she also has the amazing Miss Trenchcoat YouTube videos.

4) Sandra Bullock, yes this is my first celebrity role model. I love Sandra she has such class about her and she is incredibly dignified. Not only is she an amazing actress but despite many spotlights in the press due to her ex-husband she has always kept calm and dignified.

5) My Gran. I know it probably comes across as a little bit cheesy but this woman is such a role model to me. My grandad died in 1983 and my gran went out and worked full-time while still raising my mum and my uncle. I was 9 months old at the time as my mum had me at 18 and throughout the years she’s helped raise me and my 2 brothers, worked, bought her own home and become fully self dependant. My gran has never been afraid to be herself even when the the era she grew up there were certain expectations of her. I will be quite happy if I grow up to be half the woman she is.

There is my list. I’d love to hear from you who your role models are.

Please do not forget to take a look at all the other beautiful ladies blogs that are taking part.

SkaLovingGeek

UglyBugDoes 

A Beautiful Plan 

The Vintage Planner

A Life Lived In Words

My Chaotically Eclectic Life

Pineapple and Button

Pennygate Crafts

Plan With Hannah

SallyAnnMade

Pennygate Crafts

Thanks for reading. 

The Stationery Geekette x