September 2018 {Book Releases}

Hey and welcome to my new feature. I decided to start doing a monthly new releases post but rather than include the generic big hitters that can be found all over the place I turned to the world of Twitter and one of my favourite groups The Fiction Cafe for authors. We are lucky as readers that we have such a vast pool of talented author’s to chose from when deciding our all important read list. Let’s face it there are more books on our TBR piles than we will ever get to read in this life time.

I wanted to share with you some of the lesser known authors, we often overlook the authors who we have not heard of or have self-published and don’t have a massive budget to spend on promotion. That is where this feature comes into play, I will be helping them on their journey by highlighting books coming for release in the month and including purchase links, blurbs and where available book covers.

So without further ado, here are some September 2018 releases which may interest you.

The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper

Paperback Release

20th September

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.

If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.

But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.

The Songs of Us

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Paperback and Digital

25th September

Purchase Links: eBook U.S | eBook UK

After the death of her fiance, Sophie Daniels is struggling to keep herself together. Painting is the only way she’s able to clear her head and stay grounded. For her art isn’t a hobby—it’s her religion. With a semester away from finishing graduate school, she knows that, despite her loss, things are going to get better. In fact, her thesis advisor has even taken a special interest in her. Sophie’s convinced that she’s found the mentor that she’s been looking for. When he shows he’s interested in her in more than just a student/teacher way, she obliges him. Until his wife leaves him.

Sophie learns the hard way what happens when a man cannot take responsibility for his own actions.

Now she’s back to square one in pulling herself back together. She hasn’t just lost her fiancé anymore: she’s lost parts of herself she’s not sure she’ll ever get back.

Like her ability to create.

Lake Effect is a raw exploration of human emotion and what it takes to save your own life

Lake Effect

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Paperback

28th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Such a small parcel
shouldn’t cause experienced
smugglers much trouble,
but this parcel is far from normal.
Chased across the seas, Finn and Aria must solve the
mysteries within the parcel.
What does it mean? Who should they trust?
What will happen?
The fate of an ancient people depends on them
and time is running out …
Eternal Seas

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Website

The Westwood Witches by Sarah Northwood

Digital

September 30th

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Aero trembled as she held the box sealed inside black paper. The dilemma was a difficult one – her mum had told her the box contained secrets she might not be ready for. Once she opened it, there would be no going back…
Aero has always felt like a misfit and an outsider. Thankfully, having a best friend like Lilly, along with a grandma like Joanna, makes life worth living. But a terrible event tears her world apart, and Aero Westwood is about to discover that her family has more secrets than most.

Facebook | Website

cover The Westwood witches

The Westwod Witches by Sarah Northwood

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus by Sue Wickstead

Paperback

30th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Daisy was a happy red bus who loved travelling the busy streets of London. When newer and shinier buses came along, the older buses like Daisy began to disappear. would Daisy become one of the forgotten buses, or was something else planned for her?

40137803_169634373877402_8944368092268462080_n

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus – by Sue Wickstead

I hope that you find something here that will tickle your fancy.

Thanks for reading.

Emma-Louise x

Advertisements

Blog Tour: Crimson Siege by Jay Raven {Review}

Crimson Siege Full Tour Banner

Hey Everyone, I am delighted to be bringing you a review for the novel Crimson Siege: Blood Riders by Jay Raven as part of the Blog Tour hosted by Rachel’s Random Resources. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Rachel and Jay for inviting me on this tour and providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.

Blurb

In the Godforsaken badlands of Transylvania the fragile truce between mankind and monsters is about to explode…

When bounty hunters target one of 19th century Europe’s most feared vampire clans, the last place any lawman wants to be is caught in the middle…

But for Anton Yoska, Lord Marshal of the Imperial lands south of the Carpathian Mountains, fate has trapped him in a supernatural stand-off that can end only in a bloodbath.

A gang of mercenaries led by Anton’s former army comrade Milosh Drubrick have captured vampire aristocrat Stefan Modjeski, wanted for a string of frenzied murders, and have come to Anton to claim the reward. And as Stefan’s predatory undead kin lay siege to the jailhouse, Anton is faced with an agonising choice – hand over his prisoner and abandon the bounty hunters to their unspeakable fate, or stand and fight.

The jailhouse defenders are outnumbered and out of options. It’s a battle that can’t be won, certain slaughter for them all, and Anton can’t trust his scheming allies. But Lord Marshal Yoska isn’t about to surrender.

For he’s an experienced vampire hunter, a dangerous man when cornered, and a single minded warrior who knows there are worse things to fear than death…

vamp party quote 1

Universal purchase link-   http://geni.us/9E27uh

Amazon.com link           https://amzn.to/2HZrEar

Amazon.co.uk link       https://amzn.to/2JUJqxb

Review

What can I say, I am a sucker for a good Vampire book (get the pun there?). I have previously not heard about this author or book but I just had to have a read. Vampire style books are some of my favourite reads. Yes, that does mean I love Twilight but I am ok with this lol. The scene is set from the opening chapter where we learn about a group of bounty hunters who hunt just about everything, including vampires.

The story takes us through different characters chapter by chapter so we get an insight into the minds of everyone who is a major player. I really liked how this was done as it allowed me to see the different perspectives of both vampires and those who seek to destroy them. I have to admit that it was really nice to read a vampire book that wasn’t centered around an unrequited/forbidden love or a love triangle and as such it gave this book a refreshing edge.

The pacing was really well done, the build up to the final chapters was done in a way that kept you anticipating what would happen but didn’t drag so you found yourself bored. I really enjoyed this book and the entire storyline. Jay has done a brilliant job with not only creating a convincing and entertaining plot but also fantastic characters.

I rate this book a solid 4.5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good bit of Vampy book love.

Large Siege pic

Author Bio

Jay Raven is the author of Gothic chillers and historical horror reminding readers that the past is a dangerous place to venture, full of monsters and murderous men. He blames his fascination with vampires, witches and werewolves on the Hammer Horror films he watched as a teenager, but living in a creepy old house beside a 500-acre wood teeming with bats may have something to do with it.

 

Social Media Links

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/fantasywriterjayraven/

Twitter: @JayRavenAuthor

Website: www.jayraven.com

Jay Raven 1

Thanks for reading.

Emma- Louise x