September 2018 {Book Releases}

Hey and welcome to my new feature. I decided to start doing a monthly new releases post but rather than include the generic big hitters that can be found all over the place I turned to the world of Twitter and one of my favourite groups The Fiction Cafe for authors. We are lucky as readers that we have such a vast pool of talented author’s to chose from when deciding our all important read list. Let’s face it there are more books on our TBR piles than we will ever get to read in this life time.

I wanted to share with you some of the lesser known authors, we often overlook the authors who we have not heard of or have self-published and don’t have a massive budget to spend on promotion. That is where this feature comes into play, I will be helping them on their journey by highlighting books coming for release in the month and including purchase links, blurbs and where available book covers.

So without further ado, here are some September 2018 releases which may interest you.

The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper

Paperback Release

20th September

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.

If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.

But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.

The Songs of Us

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Paperback and Digital

25th September

Purchase Links: eBook U.S | eBook UK

After the death of her fiance, Sophie Daniels is struggling to keep herself together. Painting is the only way she’s able to clear her head and stay grounded. For her art isn’t a hobby—it’s her religion. With a semester away from finishing graduate school, she knows that, despite her loss, things are going to get better. In fact, her thesis advisor has even taken a special interest in her. Sophie’s convinced that she’s found the mentor that she’s been looking for. When he shows he’s interested in her in more than just a student/teacher way, she obliges him. Until his wife leaves him.

Sophie learns the hard way what happens when a man cannot take responsibility for his own actions.

Now she’s back to square one in pulling herself back together. She hasn’t just lost her fiancé anymore: she’s lost parts of herself she’s not sure she’ll ever get back.

Like her ability to create.

Lake Effect is a raw exploration of human emotion and what it takes to save your own life

Lake Effect

Lake Effect by Nicole Tone

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Paperback

28th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Such a small parcel
shouldn’t cause experienced
smugglers much trouble,
but this parcel is far from normal.
Chased across the seas, Finn and Aria must solve the
mysteries within the parcel.
What does it mean? Who should they trust?
What will happen?
The fate of an ancient people depends on them
and time is running out …
Eternal Seas

Eternal Seas by Lexi Rees

Website

The Westwood Witches by Sarah Northwood

Digital

September 30th

Purchase Links: eBook | Paperback

Aero trembled as she held the box sealed inside black paper. The dilemma was a difficult one – her mum had told her the box contained secrets she might not be ready for. Once she opened it, there would be no going back…
Aero has always felt like a misfit and an outsider. Thankfully, having a best friend like Lilly, along with a grandma like Joanna, makes life worth living. But a terrible event tears her world apart, and Aero Westwood is about to discover that her family has more secrets than most.

Facebook | Website

cover The Westwood witches

The Westwod Witches by Sarah Northwood

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus by Sue Wickstead

Paperback

30th September

Purchase Link: Paperback

Daisy was a happy red bus who loved travelling the busy streets of London. When newer and shinier buses came along, the older buses like Daisy began to disappear. would Daisy become one of the forgotten buses, or was something else planned for her?

40137803_169634373877402_8944368092268462080_n

Daisy Daydream The Nursery Rhyme Bus – by Sue Wickstead

I hope that you find something here that will tickle your fancy.

Thanks for reading.

Emma-Louise x

Advertisements

Book Tour: The Many Colours of Us by Rachel Burton {Extract}

WOLF & HOUND

Hey everyone,

Today I have an extract for you for the novel The Many Colours of Us by Rachel Burton.

Blurb…

What if your life was built on lies?

Julia Simmonds had never been bothered about not knowing who her father was. Having temperamental supermodel, Philadelphia Simmonds, as a mother was more than enough. Until she discovers she’s the secret love-child of the late, great artist Bruce Baldwin,  and her life changes forever.

Uncovering the secrets of a man she never knew, Julia discovers that Bruce had written her one letter, every year until her eighteenth birthday, urging his daughter to learn from his mistakes. As Julia begins to dig deeper into the mysterious past of her parents, opening up a history she’d never have imagined, but as she discovers the truth she needs to decide if she is willing to forgive and forget?

Extract…

He’s waiting for me when I get to the Tate Modern, I’m the one who’s late for once. I was so wrapped up in more clothes designs that I missed the tube stop and I’ve had to run across from St Paul’s. It’s still extremely hot and I’m aware that I’m very sweaty.

“What are we doing here?” I ask, as I catch my breath.

“There’s something I want to show you,” he says. “Come on.”

He leads me into the building and we turn immediately right, leaving the giant spider sculpture behind us. I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never been further than that before. A love of modern art clearly didn’t come down through the gene pool.

We walk through room after room of paintings, sculptures and installations some of which, quite frankly, are bizarre. The huge collection of dismembered dolls is particularly creepy. I stop to look at it, but Edwin insists we keep moving. He’s walking very fast with his back to me.

At the end of the corridor, we come into a room that is slightly more dimly lit than the others. Edwin stops suddenly in the doorway. I peer around him to look inside. The paintings in here are softer than some of the others we’ve passed, most of them painted in a palette of reds and browns and greens; what my mother would call “cool Autumn”.

“These are the paintings that made up your father’s final exhibition,” Edwin says. “The Tate dedicated this room to him when he died. Some of the work was bought at the exhibition, but those paintings that aren’t privately owned are here.”

This must be the exhibition Graeme was talking about. The one called Lost Daughters. Slowly I start to walk around the room. The paintings are huge, some of them floor to ceiling, most of them much bigger than any of the ones I’ve seen at the studio, much bigger than the ones we’re hoping to display when we open the Art Salon. They are very abstract, acrylic on canvas, which Frank has told me was my father’s favourite medium, and I’m not sure I understand them at all. But as I walk around and read the labels underneath each piece of art I start to get a sense of who my father was. It’s nothing solid, just a feeling, like a wisp of smoke just at the edge of my vision, but it’s a start. I try to remember what Graeme said about this exhibition; paintings of children on their own, ignored children, lonely children. Graeme had described it as haunting, but to me it has a more familiar feeling than that. As though I’ve been here before, even though I know I haven’t.

When I’ve done a full circuit, I go and sit with Edwin on a bench in the middle of the room. For a moment, we sit in silence.

Author Biography

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk, prodigiously early. In 2013 she finally started making one up that was worth writing down.

She has a BA in Classics and an MA in English and has never really known what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a legal secretary, a yoga teacher and a paralegal. She never quite made it to law school.

She grew up in Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

You can purchase The Many Colours of Us here on Amazon UK.

Thanks for reading

The Stationery Geekette x

The Many Colours of Us Schedule Graphic