The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

Today I have a review for the 3rd book in the Winternight series, The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden.

When I was offered this opportunity to read and review for Anne’s Random Things Blog Tour I couldn’t help but jump at the chance.

I hadn’t read the previous books but they had been on my TBR pile since the first release so this was the perfect opportunity to get them read. Before I discuss my thoughts on this book and the trilogy on the whole let’s have a gander at the blurb.

Blurb

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia – perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus and Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.
One girl can make a difference… Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers – and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya’s shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all.

Review

There are many fantasy series which I have read and enjoyed but there have only been a select few which have become favourites. The Winternight trilogy is now one of those favourites.

I was completely and utterly captivated from the first page. Katherine has such undeniable skill weaving magic into story and writing compelling and unnerving characters.

I was worried when heading into the 2nd book that it may not hold up to the first, I fully expected to feel let down but to my surprise it captivated me as much as the first.

The 3rd book also did not fail to deliver. Katherine kept the pace, the story, the magic alive right until the end, and what bittersweet ending it was. I needed to read more, I wanted to see what would happen to Vasya, the frost-demon, the Bear and the chyerti but I also did not want the story to end.

I am 100% in love with Katherine’s worldbuilding and setting, I felt so draw into the magic of it all. This story became part of my soul and it will be one I will read and re-read time and time again.

This series is one that will last against the age if time, it was astoundingly breathtaking.

Vasya will be forever etched into my heart. Thank you Katherine for allowing me to be part of your world.

I would like to also thank Anne for inviting me into this tour and essentially blowing my mind.

Emma-Louise x

One thought on “The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *